Luke Evans Returns With New Album & Major Duets

Written by on October 1, 2022

Luke Evans Returns With New Album & Major Duets


Following the success of his 2019 debut At Last, actor, singer & songwriter Luke Evans returns with his stunning new album A Song For You – out November 4th on BMG.

The record’s first offering is the irresistible earworm of ‘Horizons Blue’ – out today, co-written by Luke with renowned songwriter Amy Wadge (Ed Sheeran, Jessie Ware). ‘Horizons Blue’ is a song of hope, featuring Luke’s hushed and high vocals over simple acoustic guitar and the gentlest of strings.

Luke recounts; “I wrote it in Florida during lockdown, as the sun was coming up over the Atlantic. I was sitting on the beach and the horizon was as blue as the sea. You couldn’t see the difference between the two. Then three hours later, I zoomed with Amy in Pontypridd and we completed a demo within two hours. That’s really amazing for me, because I’d never written. I knew that I could do it, but I just needed to be guided. And who better to do that with than Amy Wadge?”


A Song For You draws its title from the Donny Hathaway song that’s one of Evans’ lifelong favourites and with which he opens the 14-song selection. They are all delivered in his transcendent tenor, with orchestral backing courtesy of Prague’s Philharmonic Orchestra, with additional glorious, full-voiced support on key tracks from the world-famous, 130-year-old Treorchy Male Voice Choir.

The foundations are four songs that speak to both his talent and to the respect in which he’s held by his peers: the two tracks he’s written with Amy Wadge, and two stellar duets, with Nicole Kidman on ‘Say Something’ and Charlotte Church on ‘Come What May’.

His gorgeous collaboration with Nicole Kidman came after the actors met during the filming of Hulu mini-series Nine Perfect Strangers in Australia. They spent five months working together, bonding offset, along with Kidman’s husband Keith Urban, in their shared love of music. As for the frankly barnstorming duet with Charlotte Church on the Moulin Rouge! epic ‘Come What May’, Luke has known the singer since she was 10, and they shared a singing teacher at the beginnings of their respective careers.

The Welshman is in huge demand as an actor, in the UK and internationally. From cinematic thrill-ride to prestige TV drama, classic big-screen animation to small-screen police procedurals, action to comedy to thriller. But give him half a chance and the star of The Hobbit, The Alienist, Fast and Furious 6, Dracula Untold and Beauty and the Beast will do what he’s always loved first and foremost: sing.

“I just feel really lucky as a singer, my first love, to do it again,” Evans concludes, “and to sing these magical songs on an album which I’ll have for the rest of my life. I want everyone else to share that joy, too.”

A Song For You – Tracklisting

  1. A Song For You
  2. You Raise Me Up
  3. Horizons Blue
  4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  5. Say Something (featuring Nicole Kidman)
  6. My Way
  7. Over the Rainbow
  8. Calon Lân
  9. I Can’t Make You Love Me
  10. Come What May (featuring Charlotte Church)
  11. Busy Breaking Yours
  12. Everybody Hurts
  13. Last Christmas
  14. Silent Night

Limited signed formats are available from Luke’s official artist store.

Tagged as

Current track